AR Drone LabVIEW Toolkit Release 0.1

Dear small niche audience of interested students, educators, hobbyists or confused blog readers who have stumbled onto this post.  My name is Michael Mogenson, I’m a graduate student in Mechanical Engineering at Tufts University in Boston, MA.  I work at the Center for Engineering Education and Outreach and I’m releasing the first iteration of a project I’ve been working on: the AR Drone LabVIEW Toolkit.

What is the AR Drone LabVIEW Toolkit?  Its a palette of VI’s for National Instruments LabVIEW that can can control the Parrot AR Drone quadrotor.  With these VI’s you can fly the AR Drone around your living room with a USB joystick or gamepad.  You can write a program to autonomously fly your AR Drone.  You can view the video stream from the AR Drone’s cameras or navigation data from the on-board sensors.  You can use the many included image processing algorithms to analyze images from the AR Drone and recognize objects, track people, navigate through enclosed spaces, or anything else you can think of.

If you want the AR Drone LabVIEW Toolkit you can download it from here.  Follow the instructions in the READ ME file to install the Toolkit.  It should work with the base package of LabVIEW 2010 or later on Windows, Mac, and Linux.

Check out these YouTube videos to see what myself and other people have created with the AR Drone LabVIEW Toolkit.

Still reading this and have a lot of free time on your hands?  You can read my masters thesis about this project here.

About Michael Mogenson

Graduate Researcher @ Tufts University
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to AR Drone LabVIEW Toolkit Release 0.1

  1. Mohamed boughazli says:

    It seems to be a great project ! Thank you for this post 🙂

  2. John Wu says:

    Hi Mike, my name’s John Wu and I am also a ME Jumbo (class of 2002,) I worked for NI for about 6 years and now I do LabVIEW consulting for a living. Just wanted to let you know what you’re learning now can definitely be turned into a profitable career! Keep up the good work! Check out my blog at riobotics.blogspot.com for more details.

  3. Erik Van geel (BELGIUM) says:

    Amazing. Using LabVIEW for a lot of stuff. Now I need to buy an AR Drome 😉

  4. emiliekopp says:

    I can’t tell you how many people navigated to the LabVIEW Robotics blog wanting code like this. This is awesome to see. Congrats on the great work and thank you for sharing.

    You may want to post a link to where people can download the code from the LabVIEW Robotics Code Exchange (ni.com/code/robotics) so more people can discover this. Create a new Document that describes your toolkit and provide a download link (or upload your code directly to the community).

    • mogen317 says:

      Sure thing. I’m trying to get one last version of this toolkit done before I graduate with new features, better documentation, and some other stuff. I’ll put that version up on NI’s code exchange site.

  5. Ayo Olubeko says:

    Hi Mike, got a quick question for you. Does this toolkit work with the recently released AR.DRONE 2.0 quadcopter?

  6. Bubba says:

    Fantastic! Thank you! I’ve been thinking about this since I bought my Drone a few months ago. I’d be happy to help test for you. I’m not a “pro” at LV, but can hold my own. 🙂

  7. jose david says:

    WOW great!!!! I’m from Colombia, and now I am working whit Ar.Drone and GPS, but I have a problem whit labview. I open the GPS whit the visa port and the communication whit Ardrone whit UDP, but it can’t work in parallels, maybe is problems whit the time, i don’t know if you can help me, see you. Your project is awesome!!!!

  8. Lou says:

    Great Work! I’m having a blast programming some interesting behaviors with the toolkit. Quick question though, I’m having trouble with the rename vi that I understand can be used to change the name of the wifi network broadcast by the drone (it just doesn’t work). Do you have any documentation as to how this should be used correctly?

  9. Michael says:

    Hi, do you know how i can use it for the Parrot AR Drone ? The Start, Landing and Emergency works with your Toolkit, but i need more ! 😉

  10. Make sure that the hover toggle is disengaged. Else wise all movement commands for right, left, forward, and backwards will be ignored.

  11. Julien C says:

    Hi Michael, i’m a french student. I have to do a project on the Parrot AR Drone v2. Can we use your toolkit with this version of the drone ? And second question, my lecturer told me there is a project from national instrument based on yours : do you know where i can find it ? And what is different in relation to your project (is compatible with ar drone v2 ?) ?

    In any case, i would like to congratulate you for your work and your thesis => Great Job !

    • Thanks! Check out my most recent post for a link to the NI Toolkit, which does work with the AR Drone 2.0.

      • PK says:

        How do i let my video image appear on the front panel of the VI instead of having another pop up window? The video is in ffplay.
        Actually working on AR Drone 2.0 video capturing. Need the image capture to appear in LabView front panel.
        Any advice you can give?

      • I didn’t design the video decoder for the AR Drone 2.0 so you’ll have to ask the guys from LabviewHacker.com.

  12. PK says:

    Thank you for your promot reply.

    • Julien C says:

      If you found how can we open the video from the ar drone v2 in the front panel of the VI, can you give what i have to do ?
      Last wednesday, i opened the video flow in a new window (out of LabView) but it’s too heavy and long.
      If you found the solution, you can contact me directly at this address (j.carmignani at(@)free.fr). Take the opportunity to give me your email because it will be more easier to exchange about our project and to same time.

  13. PK says:

    Hi Julien C, i can’t send you an email. Maybe you can give me a gmail add or hotmail add?

  14. PK says:

    Hi Michael,

    I tried asking the guys from LabviewHacker.com but i got no reply from them.
    Because on their site they only have a comment box, no email address is given.
    Do you know any of the guys or have any email that i can contact through?

Leave a Reply

